Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: offshore hosting + 2257 + us webmasters

offshore hosting + 2257 + us webmasters

Lets say I have a USA webmaster client who sets up on offshore webhosts to avoid this 2257 stuff. I know that the DOJ can still go in and demand the docos and fine him and maybe even jail him, but would they still be able to demand the web hosting company shut down his site? After all, its for reasons that are not legally recognized outside of the USA.

What do you guys think?

cheers,
    Luke

If homosexuality is a disease, let's all call in queer to work. procam's Avatar
    I was hoping u would ask this question and I was dying to kick it around with you but ........ with all the spooks I didnt want to mention it till you did.
    Can they force you to shut the foreign webmasters site down ? Thats a damn gray area -- UUNET tells me NO ! not until the laws modified again to include such verbage at the present hosts are exempted from the newly revised law BUT<>, Recently the FBI shutdown and redirected a a popular torrent site and slapped up BIG FBI logos and a story explaining why the site was shut down -- I think its safe to say if they can do that - dont be shocked if they do demand such a thing. That was the first time in all my years of running a hosting company I have ever seen the FBI take such drastic steps to make a scene on the net.{{ www.elitetorrents.org }} And be sure not to miss that yea it says DOJ and Dept of Homeland security on it ......... now wtf does homeland security have to do with copyrights HA indeed one more example of that dept has too much power imo.

My reason for asking is this ......