Thread: me too, I'm new here!

mgmydesigner

Big Grin me too, I'm new here!

I have no experience designing for adult web sites but have been designing for print/web for the past 12 yrs

anybody wants to give me a chance? :goseek:

can provide samples of current non-adult work

mgmydesigner

I Wonder?

anybody know where i can start? any good adult freelance sites?

First off, welcome to the GWW community.

As to "freelance" sites, I'm not quite sure I understand what you're asking for links to.

To get into this off of mainstream is certainly doable. But you need to be willing to take the time it's going to take to learn everything you can about the adult business, the various niches within the two marketing groups (straight and gay), as well as go and study as many various types of sites as you can that the adult webmaster uses. They need items like banners, free sites, link list sites, tgp gallery sites, full page ads, half page ads, sponsor sites, avs sites, and paysites and tours. You need to learn what each of those is, and how to make them.

Start chasing down all the resource links you'll find on boards like this one that are out there to service the needs of the working adult webmaster for starters. Get to know the types of sites. Start registering on boards like this one and get to know folks. Ask questions or just participate wherever you can so they get to know you.

Start building up a portfolio, maybe even look to see what's available for a good domain name and pick it up and slowly start building yourself a site where you can house your samples.

It can be fun if you go in with that mind set, but I won't kid you and say there's a fortune to be had, or that it's easy work, it isn't. It's long hours and the work can be sporadic. You need to decide if it's something you're willing to commit to for the long haul, and go from there.

mgmydesigner