Thread: Another Lame 2257 Question

How long have you been gay?

Another Lame 2257 Question

Hey Guys - Total newbie Here with a couple questions about distribution and reselling content . . .

Are producers required to provide their resellers and distributors with 2257 records up front (ie If I order 25 copies of a DVD title from a studio to sell on my site, should I be getting copies of model Id's and release forms from them)? Or ... As a mere distributor, can I simply provide links to the custodian of records for each studio I sell?

My attorney has a strong opinion that a reseller is considered a secondary producer and needs to have all 2257 records on file for each title.
    Seems like the Big DVD sites are doing different things & I was hoping to get some input from you guys on this.

Thanks a lot everyone!! cj

any sexually explicit picture or video - including banners and fpa's - that is on YOUR site you need to act as custodian of records for.

Quote Originally Posted by ACE
    Hey Guys - Total newbie Here with a couple questions about distribution and reselling content . . .

Are producers required to provide their resellers and distributors with 2257 records up front (ie If I order 25 copies of a DVD title from a studio to sell on my site, should I be getting copies of model Id's and release forms from them)? Or ... As a mere distributor, can I simply provide links to the custodian of records for each studio I sell?

My attorney has a strong opinion that a reseller is considered a secondary producer and needs to have all 2257 records on file for each title.
    Seems like the Big DVD sites are doing different things & I was hoping to get some input from you guys on this.

Thanks a lot everyone!! cj