Thread: Software shopping

the queerest straight girl in the world...

Software shopping

Hey ya'll - I am software shopping for the next few days, and I appreciate any input any of you might have.

First on the list is a shopping cart. I know NADA about this technology, but we are wasting our time taking credit card orders via phone and <*gasp*> email. We have nearly 200 movie titles, so this needs to be a realtively powerful item, AND needs to be able to be handled by seriously non technical types.

Number two on the list is a good bulk emailer. Not for spamming, but for newsletters. Right now, I am looking at emill, broadcast, and arial. I am a tech type, so complexity isn't important - but good can-spam legal features are vital - easy database operations, good merge funtionality, and integrated db scrubbing of unsubscribes and bounces are important to me.

Finally - ok, we are going VOD with our movies in 2006. What I know about VOD could fit on the head of a pin. Remember, please, what I have said about non-tech types needing to run it. Did I mention 200 movies? I did. Did I mention that this needs to be simple enough for folks who like using AOL? (No, they are NOT silly-heads, they are film-makers, and quite good at it!)

Thanks all!

Shaun

Life is a dick and when itīs get hard---just fuck it... DEVELISH's Avatar
    Shopping Cart / Online Shop: http://www.oscommerce.com/

DEV.

You do realize by 'gay' I mean a man who has sex with other men?
    Quote Originally Posted by shaun
    First on the list is a shopping cart. I know NADA about this technology, but we are wasting our time taking credit card orders via phone and <*gasp*> email. We have nearly 200 movie titles, so this needs to be a realtively powerful item, AND needs to be able to be handled by seriously non technical types.
    As Develish mentioned, OSCommerce is a good script and, as an added bonus, its free