Thread: Hello and Welcome

Rimmates.com

Hello and Welcome

Hello everyone. I'm glad I found this board and I hope to contribute regularly. I am a super newbie in the world of webmasters, so my absorption of all this material the past 2 weeks has been overwhelming, but manageable.

My goal is to create a theme site, and along the way I am documenting my progress from utter and complete newborn all the way up to the launching of my site. This includes knowing not a single word of HTML (maybe 5, but that's it), nothing about affiliates, sponsors, SEO, etc. Everything will be from the ground up starting from the beginning.

So far, here is what I have managed to do in two weeks:
    - learn about Google keywords, keyword analyzers, and optimization
    - read all kinds of tutorials on posting galleries, both hosted and free
    - registered 3 domains with GoDaddy for $6.95 each
    - signed up with Host Gator for only $.99 for the first month
    - downloaded and installed Unified Stats, which by the way is how I found this forum
    - downloaded and installed a trial version of Chameleon Submitter... still learning that one
    - still looking for that elusive "step by step" on how to make free hosted galleries, and who will accept them.

And here is what I still have left to learn:
    - how to create an effective blog. I've never even used MySpace, so again everything is a new experience.
    - how to run a forum (not as big as this one) for my visitors to talk about our niche/fetish site. I'll need to find a good defense from forum spam.
    - get better at page design... I'm using a trial ver. of Dreamweaver.
    - find better content from sponsors. most everything I see looks old and overused. I am not a fan of cute hairless twinks, which is all I see out there. My focus will be hairy, jock, and underwear content.
    - actually submit my first free galleries to start building some funds.