Thread: The best computer for video processing?

Xstr8guy

The best computer for video processing?

Bec, Luke and I are discussing hard drives in this thread... which got me thinking.

What is the optimum computer configuration for video editing and encoding? Are the new Quad processors the best option? How many gigs of memory would be ideal? Is a SATA RAID 0 hard drive setup best? How important is a top-of-the line graphics card? What is a good reference LCD monitor to use?

Do any of you have a wish list for a dream machine for video work? I'm not really interested in a Mac solution at this point although i know some of you will insist that it's the only solution. Lol.

Gay Journalist and erotic video producer.
    Itinerant photographer, now in Liverpool... and on Stripchat and Streamen and Chaturbate.
    I'm a Mac/Final Cut Pro guy!

It does it all.

I shoot with SONY HDV cam,
    * ingest with Final Cut Pro to internal drive,
    * edit with FCP,
    * create titles in LiveType,
    * import graphics made in PhotoShop,
    * add motion graphics made in Motion or PhotoPresenter
    * add music created by others, or in GarageBand or SoundTrackPro
    * export for streaming in a variety of possible formats
    * and author DVDs with DVD Studio Pro.

I do have a SATA tower (not RAID'd), but I don't use it.

Right now I alternate my work between a Mac G5 PPC and an iMac20. I am convinced that I will be able to downsize my footprint by trading off the G5 for another iMac, yet gain productivity (altho the iMac harddrive bus is slower than the G5, eventough the iMac is Intel and the G5 is not).

Xstr8guy
    Lol, I knew I'd only get Mac users to respond in this thread.

On the other hand.... You have different fingers
    I would say, for a machine that is going to be used to *encode* a lot of video,

- SATA RAID-5 with a hardware RAID card
    - 2 to 4 gigs of RAM
    - High-end video card with hardware MPEG and Quicktime encoding
    - Core-2 Duo