Thread: Changing to a non windows host - issues!

aaron-str8hell

Changing to a non windows host - issues!

Hey guys, nice to be here. I'm Aaron and I've just started running a medium sized paysite for a production company based in London.

Unfortunately the members area technology is made in asp.net, and the site is hosted on a windows server. Once you're actually in the members area, there's just plain html.

I want to rebuild the site in php, but the company who run our hosting don't have any non windows servers. Php pages aren't protected in the members area because php can't read the cookies and session.

I'm sure I won't have a problem finding a new webhost, and from the stalking - sorry - research I've done on these forums, Chilihost looks like a good bet.
    But how would I create a new login system that worked with php and could be hooked up with our payment providers and stuff? That's the part that's a bit daunting. I'm not a pro coder. Anyone got any advice?

Thankyou :wrench:

Aaron, hooking it into your payment processor should be easy. Pretty much every processor provides you with linux compatable php or cgi scripts that they use to insert a password into your .htpasswd file. You then verify member's userids and passwords when they enter the member area via an .htaccess file (htaccess checks the htpasswd file and then allows/denies based on if the userid/password combo is found). This method is currently being used by probably 90% of the adult websites online.

If you are currently using ASP only for member verification, switching to a linux server should be very easy. All we would have to do is copy your members area and tour, then get the billing company scripts setup and get them to repopulate the password file, then test it all to make sure its good. When you are happy, we do the DNS switch and you are live.