Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rational Explanation Please...

Words paint the real picture gaystoryman's Avatar

Rational Explanation Please...

Let me preface this with a simply disclaimer. I am not a program owner. NATS and the other stuff is all Greek to me. However I am an affiliate of sponsors who do use NATS, among others.

It also seems that some webmasters are unperturbed by the whole NATS issue, while other's are nearing a state of declaring all out war. Name calling, useless threads about who said what, or is doing what simply makes the issue more obscure and confusing, so could someone, without disdain explain a few things to a simple blond old man, like me?

1. What information has been put at risk? One thread said name, address, and email, but others are claiming far more, such as SSN and perhaps even banking information.

So to begin with, has there been any reported, verified, incidents of such information being obtained? Is someone getting tons of extra spam, or has their banking information been compromised?

2. How can I, as an affiliate determine if my sponsor is indeed using NATS?

3. Have any actual program owners reported break ins, where information MIGHT have been obtained? I know, that's a tough one, but has any program owner made public a claim that such an action might have happened?

4. Now I am not asking for evidence to take to court, because by then it would be too late, but is there anything other than a report of 'what might happen' if such and such isn't changed in the admin?

5. As an affiliate, what steps are there in place by program owners now, to insure that my information is secure? I read Luke's thread, but am wondering, should I be contacting the program owners, or should they be contacting me?

6. There is talk about some 'back door' exploit, but how do I know if any other similar programs are subject to this exploit, as is currently happening to NATS?