Thread: Hosting Video Clips

Dzinerbear

Hosting Video Clips

Hi all,

Until now, my sites have been static picture galleries. I want to try an experiment with providing some galleries with video clips on my sites, but I've never done before.

And I'm always escared of new things.

Are clips the same as pics? You just click an icon for the clip and it plays? Or do I have to have a player on my site?

Is there free software out there to help you edit the clips so you can create smaller clips as advertising teasers?

What about screen grabs? How do I achieve that?

And I'm assuming my BW will go through the roof. I'm planning on making them premium sites, so that should stall some of the free traffic and I do have quite a bit of unused BW every month, but still, am I bracing myself for a phone from the host?

Thanks, any suggestions, tips, or URLs you can provide would be appreciated.

Cheers
    Michael

Xstr8guy
    OH GOD! I had a long response to your questions, but I accidently closed down the window before I posted! DOH!

Give me a minute to compose myself and I'll try again.

Xstr8guy
    Here is the short version...

Windows Movie Maker makes great .wmv files... and it's free! I also use FlixPro for making Flash movies (not free) and RealProducer looks great for making .rm files.

I use about 4-12 2 minute plus clips per AVS site and fill-out the site with picture galleries. You can make the movies open up from thumbs (it will open up windows media player automatically) or you can embed the movie in a webpage. The last method is preferred because you can stick a banner under the video and the surfer is forced to look at the banner the entire time they are watching the movie, Most .html editors have object embed options.

Screen caps are easy using PaintShopPro or VirtualDub (free)