Thread: What good is a PR ranking?

Rainbo1956

What good is a PR ranking?

Ok, it seems the more I learn, the less I know...

But really, what good is a Google pr ranking?
    I mean, I have sites and they're a pr4 and the other a pr3 and when I do a search on the key words I used as well as a search using parts of the domain name....alllll kinds of sites come up first with no pr ranking at all....my sites on the other hand, dont come up.

So, at the risk of sounding like a total nOOb....what the hell good is a google pr ranking anyway?

My site
    ezgaypersonals.com is a good example...
    Or, usatogay.com ...they have fairly good pr rankings, but like I said when I enter the keywords and or part of the names, they never come up.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated....cause I feel like a damn burn out, newbie, old and confused....

BDBionic
    Google PR is more and more obsolete with every day that goes by.
    The most relevance it has, for all practical purposes, is to serve as a tie-breaking factor between two sites with content and keywords that Google's spiders have rated as equal with respect to certain search terms.

So for example, you could have a PR 8 site but Google still might not feel that your PR 8 site is relevant to a specific search term like "gay butt sex", for instance.

So a site that it reads as being more related to gay butt sex will rank higher than yours for that search phrase even though it's overall PR might just be 1 or 2.

Now, if Google sees two sites it reads as being just about the same as one another with regards to "gay butt sex" - similar structure, linking schemes, keyword occurrence, text relevance, content, etc - and yours is PR 8 and the other is PR 2, you'll get ranked higher.

The thing with PR as returned on the Google toolbar is it's an overall rating for pages on the whole.