Thread: domain name registration and hosting

eclipse

domain name registration and hosting

Hi,

I am fairly new to the field, and was wondering which place you recommend for registering your domain name, and possibly a hosting company. I need something reasonably priced, and a host that is ok with adult content. I am just starting out, so my site will be a place holder for an amount of time, and to market my exclusive content to webmasters in the field.

Please make some recommendations. I checked out the mainstream sites for domain registration, and quite frankly, their prices seemed quite high.

http://www.GKG.net is great. Domains are $8.49 to register and they give you a free parking page which I've used to put doorway pages to my other sites for free :-D

Takemytaco
    Hi eclipse,

For registrar.
    I only use directnic.com $15 per year
    - godaddy is cheaper but I wouldn't recomend it - (I've heard so many bad stories about them).

Originally posted by Takemytaco
    Hi eclipse,

For registrar.
    I only use directnic.com $15 per year
    - godaddy is cheaper but I wouldn't recomend it - (I've heard so many bad stories about them).
    what stories have you heard about GoDaddy? I was thinking of recommending them, but just started using them on a couple of domains.

Takemytaco

Words paint the real picture gaystoryman's Avatar
    For domain registration I use 1and1.com which is $5.99 and they are ICANN registered and are quite good.

For hosting I have heard a great deal of complimentary things about chilihost here at GWW so I'd take a look there.

directNIC is too expensive for me as I can get 2 for the price of 1 and haven't had any problems with 1and1 who also do hosting but I couldn't say if they accept adult.

hth
    Ian
    Webmasters: Add Custom Stories To Your Sites Custom Gay Stories

My Blogs Gay Talk, Free Gay Fiction, Erotic Fiction Online