Thread: Judge Sentences Spammer to 9 Years in Prison

Judge Sentences Spammer to 9 Years in Prison

LEESBURG, Va. (AP) - A man convicted in the nation's first felony case against illegal spamming was sentenced to nine years in prison Friday for bombarding Internet users with millions of junk e-mails.

FULL STORY

What do you guys think about this? Will this change the way you communicate with current and past subscribers?
    Naked Straight Men on Squirtit & StraightBro

~ In Production ~

Blindfoldmen.com
    scifimen.com

dougie_digital
    It will change how people will conduct their business.
    Like any other biz with new laws, you just have to learn what they are.

Whatever's legally safe will be what the majority gravitate towards.

In this case, spamming in Virginia is legal so long as you don't mask your identity. I'm no legal expert, but are messages to customers that signed up for your program even considered unsolicited bulk mails?

I don't like spam. I hate getting "Free PSP!" 20 times a day, but 9 years is ridiculous. I'd say a huge fine and no jail time if he was selling products or offering stuff for "free". The moment you start scamming, that's another story. But still, 9 years is too much.

Yeah I hate spam too. The last three days I've gotten 87 spam emails so far, filtered through Norton Anti Spam. A waste of time, bandwidth and money.

Sucks a slimeball like this was making $750,000 a month causing so much grief for everyone. You'd think with his abilities he'd find a less distructive way to make a buck. :high:

~ In Production ~

Blindfoldmen.com
    scifimen.com

You do realize by 'gay' I mean a man who has sex with other men?
    The really fucked up thing in this case is that the guy was making $750k a month yet got a piddly fine.

Im sorry if you are making that much by spamming people each month, especially if you are ALREADY a well known spammer, you dont use forged headers or whois info.