Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Really need some help with video cameras

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    blah blah blah...
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    670
    Quote Originally Posted by IntenseCash.com
    Wow thanks for the great feedback everyone. The two things I was worried about the the FX1 was using tapes. Wouldn't it be better to just get a camera that uses mini dv's? I know there is a reason but I haven't figured it out yet. How easy it is to transfer those to a mpeg file on the computer?

    The other thing I wanted to know if you guys use a seperate camera or screen grab from the video for your pictures.

    Thanks everyone again for your help.

    Hugs,
    Mark
    ummm....i'm not 100% sure....but doesn't the FX1 record onto a Mini DV? I think it does Mark.


  2. #2
    You do realize by 'gay' I mean a man who has sex with other men? IntenseCash.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,712
    Quote Originally Posted by GPallan
    ummm....i'm not 100% sure....but doesn't the FX1 record onto a Mini DV? I think it does Mark.
    Wow that is really strange it looks like you are right. The site that had a video review on the FX-1 put a tape into it, no wonder why I am so confused.

    Mark
    * IntenseCash.com - If you can't convert us you better look for a new job!


  3. #3
    blah blah blah...
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Posts
    670
    Quote Originally Posted by IntenseCash.com
    Wow that is really strange it looks like you are right. The site that had a video review on the FX-1 put a tape into it, no wonder why I am so confused.

    Mark
    haha i know what you mean. It was confusing for me too. Usually they clearly state "mini dv" right next to the model number. So, i guess you'll be purchasing it then?

    btw Mark, have i ever told you how damn hot you are?!!! my friend was over the other day looking over my shoulder, and he too was like "woah, he's hot."


  4. #4
    You do realize by 'gay' I mean a man who has sex with other men? IntenseCash.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,712
    Quote Originally Posted by GPallan
    haha i know what you mean. It was confusing for me too. Usually they clearly state "mini dv" right next to the model number. So, i guess you'll be purchasing it then?

    btw Mark, have i ever told you how damn hot you are?!!! my friend was over the other day looking over my shoulder, and he too was like "woah, he's hot."
    Yeah I think this is the video camera I will be purchasing.

    <blush> thanks a bunch for the compliment I appreciate it.

    Mark
    * IntenseCash.com - If you can't convert us you better look for a new job!


  5. #5
    Slade
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by IntenseCash.com
    Wow that is really strange it looks like you are right. The site that had a video review on the FX-1 put a tape into it, no wonder why I am so confused.

    Mark
    Hey Mark,
    What's the best price you can find on the FX1? With the extras, the kit, etc. looks like the best I can find is on Ebay for about $3100.00


  6. #6
    Today the USA, tommorrow the World collegeboyslive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    749
    carefull on ebay and these "really low proce " stores
    i tried to go that route and they try to see you "optional extras" like the lens !!!! and a charger and a battery and a "madatory warrenty"

    get it from an autherized sony distributer, this isnt a toy to find out sony wont fix it if it breaks under warrenty cause it was a shipment from lapan or soemthing.
    Video feeds and content available to webmasters:
    http://demo.collegeboyslive.com http://affiliates.collegeboyslive.com


  7. #7
    chick with a bass basschick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7,922
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ughType=search
    is this it? i have had good experience buying from this retailer, and their prices are usually good.


  8. #8
    You do realize by 'gay' I mean a man who has sex with other men? IntenseCash.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,712
    Quote Originally Posted by basschick
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...ughType=search
    is this it? i have had good experience buying from this retailer, and their prices are usually good.
    Yes that is the one.
    * IntenseCash.com - If you can't convert us you better look for a new job!


  9. #9
    You do realize by 'gay' I mean a man who has sex with other men? IntenseCash.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,712
    Quote Originally Posted by collegeboyslive
    carefull on ebay and these "really low proce " stores
    i tried to go that route and they try to see you "optional extras" like the lens !!!! and a charger and a battery and a "madatory warrenty"

    get it from an autherized sony distributer, this isnt a toy to find out sony wont fix it if it breaks under warrenty cause it was a shipment from lapan or soemthing.
    Thanks for the tip the store that had it for 1,700 I was really wondering about.

    Mark
    * IntenseCash.com - If you can't convert us you better look for a new job!


  10. #10
    Today the USA, tommorrow the World collegeboyslive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    749
    yeah, try and place an order, you will get an e-mail a few hours later asking you to call them, you call and then they try to seel you all sorts of extras, refuse them and the unit sudenly is " out of stock" and they will contact you when its available and you never hear from them againa, its basic bait and switch
    Video feeds and content available to webmasters:
    http://demo.collegeboyslive.com http://affiliates.collegeboyslive.com


  11. #11
    On the other hand.... You have different fingers
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,548
    I would be very wary of shopcartusa.

    A couple of the merchants I KNOW to be completely sleazy are rated there with "excellent" ratings.

    For an example, take a look at any item sold by "Digital Express/Express Cameras" and you'll see that the merchant is rated 4-1/2 stars. Now search for "Express Cameras" on resellerratings.com and you'll see that they are rated something like 0.61 (out of 10) with 720 ratings.

    Near as I can tell, most of the "consumer ratings" sites are shams and sell positive ratings to their merchants. Resellerratings seems to be a lot more honest and takes pains to make sure that merchants can't rate themselves; the site was started by 2 guys, sold to a dotcom who ruined it with fake ratings and went bankrupt, and then the original 2 guys bought it back and have restored the original ratings policies.

    I've found that the sleaziest of the New York stores are still sleazy, but some of the other ones have actually cleaned up their act a little bit, perhaps in part because Internet ratings were killing them. I like supporting places like resellerratings because they seem to be doing a pretty good job of trying to provide reliable, unbiased information.

    BTW, I've had really good luck with B+H Photo, and J+R Music World and Adorama are usually pretty good too. There are other good ones, and many others that are a little iffy... ask very detailed questions and make sure, for example, that you are getting a product intended for the US market that comes with the *original manufacturer's US warranty.* Sleazy retailers will say "US warranty" when they mean "US warranty provided by ____________ sleazy retailer"


  12. #12
    You do realize by 'gay' I mean a man who has sex with other men? IntenseCash.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,712
    Quote Originally Posted by Slade
    Hey Mark,
    What's the best price you can find on the FX1? With the extras, the kit, etc. looks like the best I can find is on Ebay for about $3100.00
    I found it at a site for 1,800 but seemed way too good to be true. I have already heard of some problems with people buying from these places. I did however find a very informative website where buyers rate each of these sites so you can see how many people had problems etc. The site is http://www.shopcartusa.com/Product/h..._HDR-FX1/PT_Y/

    Mark
    * IntenseCash.com - If you can't convert us you better look for a new job!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •